Solace of Support

With the New Moon in Pisces this week there is an opportunity to receive some caring support instead of battling through life doing things tough. Being open to recieving support for some people is a very difficult prospect indeed. A  person may feel bad in themselves by admitting they need help.

`

hug-bw1b

Hugs are Support

The degree of the New Moon at 6 degree Pisces which is the Sabian degree “A Large Cross laying on the Rocks”.  Linda Hill describes this weeks New Moon in a deeply compassionate and spiritual manner – please spend some time reading the article if you haven’t already done so.

It is not uncommon in counselling to establish therapy  “contracts” where the clients accepts goal orientated treatment plans based on receiving support.  A few years ago I was working with a client who seemed to need support to get through her weekly life.  The person had limited support available to her as her mother lived in Europe and her ex husband had started a new life.

Some people have struggled to no ends in their life while receiving little support what so ever. Other people seem have the “right stuff” and consider getting any help to be a sign of weakness. The particular client who came for counselling –  agreed that a supportive treatment plan suited her.

Over the weeks working with the client they became increasingly rebellious to the idea of support. The client seemed to be an independent woman with good assertive skills in life. Usually after some time in counselling a person can learn skills so they can eventually  “support them-self” and  begin to feel less helpless in the world.

If however a client is dependant or reliant on others support – the thought of becoming self sufficient –  “not helpless” any more may leave the person up in the air between supportive therapy contracts and and being fiercley independant in life.

`

against-grain

How did we get here?

Well it is reasonable to think from here things went down hill rapidly with my client. There was not enough time for me to back peddle or change our therapy goals. The client booked again however cancelled before the day. She booked again and cancelled again. Usually I let cancellations like these go on for two or three occasions before creating some boundaries. I realised the client was angry with me and rightly so for getting into such a predicament. I let her cancel four or five times before saying that I could not make any further appointments with her.

The only trouble is when the serial canceller gets angry and stuck again –  it is likely they will once again turn to me for anger management. The person only has to make an appointment with me and fail to show up thinking I will be pissed off. Usually a “serial canceller” will give you an indication of who its is. They will leave a sign or an incongruous statement in the phone call that identifies such behaviour.

`

cross-in-the-rocks

If my client is back soon – I will gladly accept them not turning up.  I will not be angry or feel put out by such behaviour. I accept that the person is experiencing pain in life and that they are reaching out in their own unique way. I would also be very happy to re connect with such a client though – to clear the air with the hope to start again.

If there is anything that can help in situations like these it is the compassionate Pisces New Moon and A Cross Laying on the Rocks.

Kingsley

11 Responses to “Solace of Support”


  1. 1 roses February 26, 2009 at 08:28

    My hubby turned 49 on the 23rd of Feb. He’s a pisces – that’s about all i know about that. Wow! He used to be 17! It happens…

  2. 2 kingsley February 26, 2009 at 13:14

    Many happy returns to your husband Roses. I also know quite a few good pisces people who were born around this time.

    I have probably had more to do with these “early pisces” than any other Sun sign in the zodiac.

    k

  3. 3 KazzaB February 26, 2009 at 15:03

    I’m on the cusp of Pisces and Aries but have always considered myself a Pisces. I’m about to start placement and while I really need the support I think I’ll receive from the supervisor, I also want to go in there and try to do things “perfectly”. I expect a lot from myself and I always think others expect a lot too. It will be difficult to take those expectations off myself and just let things flow and learn from the experience. I think I do expect to battle through life by myself sometimes.

  4. 4 kingsley February 26, 2009 at 15:23

    Hi KazzaB, good to see you at the Kingsley blog.

    I know what you mean about expectations Kazza. In some ways at first – getting things right as a new therapist is not a bad thing. It helps to keep one in line with theory – practice and protocols etc. Later on though when the Partent part of the therapist is less rigid – making a few mistakes can be very useful too.

    Amyway, I have to tell you KazzaB that there is no such thing as “on the Cusp”. You can only be one or ther other I am afraid Kazza.

    There are 30 degrees in each sign of the zodiac; if you are 29 degrees 59 minutes Pisces – then you are Pisecs. If you are 00 degrees 00 Aries then youo are an Aries. The only way to tell is to have ones birth time.

    kingsley

  5. 5 KazzaB February 26, 2009 at 16:34

    What about someone who was due to be born two weeks before they were, like me? Does it count. My birth was 21/3/63 at 2.00 in the afternoon. So does that make me a pisces? I just feel I have more pisces traits than I do aries.

  6. 6 kingsley February 26, 2009 at 18:06

    I always get asked that question Kazza however the time of birth is taken when the first breath is drawn. That is the beginning of ones conscious life.

    You are definitley a Pisces KazzaB

  7. 7 KazzaB February 26, 2009 at 18:33

    So even though Aries begins on March 21st, I’m a Pisces? That’s great because I always read the Pisces horoscope, rather than the Aries one!! 🙂 Thanks for confirming that for me.

  8. 8 kingsley February 26, 2009 at 18:49

    Yes that is right Kazza, I would have always seen you as Pisces especially because of your heart felt poetry.

    About three hours later, the Sun clicked over into Aries.

    You have a Cancer Ascendant and Aquarius Moon. I presume you were born in Australia.

    k

  9. 9 KazzaB February 26, 2009 at 19:38

    Yep, I was born in WA. So what does that mean – I have aspects of Cancer and Aquarius? It’s very interesting. I feel like things are going to be very interesting for me in the next few months with a lot of learning and growing. And hopefully believing in myself a lot more than I ever have before.

  10. 10 kingsley February 26, 2009 at 20:31

    Yes they are some main emphasis in your chart Kazza. You have mainly water with pisces Sun and the Cancer Ascendant. They are good for empathy – nurturing feelings. The Moon in Aquarius is in an air sign – itellectual – thinking and processing feelings – so that helps with the water signs.

    I have moon in aquarius and it tends to motivate ones need for humanitarian deeds – such as social work etc. In our field Kazza the moon in aquarius helps with an element of detachment too.

    The Pisces Sun can be the creative dreamer – the desire to express creative fantasy such as poetry. It can help if the Pisces person has grounding influences in life.

    Pisces and religion (spiritualism) go hand in hand as do musicians – they have goal to grapple with the “weight of the world”. Sometimes that can result in melancholy. PIsces vibrate to a different dimension than most folk, therefore they have the capacity to see the world from vista’s that others wouldnt imagine.

    kingsley

  11. 11 KazzaB February 27, 2009 at 05:51

    Thank you Kingsley, I’m going to keep this in mind today as I go out for my placement. I’m not as nervous as I thought I’d be this morning. The melancholy is spot on, as is being a dreamer and wanting to be creative. I only discovered that a few years ago tho. I am empathic and I am a nurturer – both careers, my former as a nurse and this one as a soon to be counsellor are nurturing professions.

    I’m looking forward to reading more of your writing about astrology.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 199 other followers

Solution Graphics

Support Local Astrologers

Wordpress Counter

  • 1,249,142

Image of The Week

Fluidity

Kingsley Astrology Tweets

Archives


